2017 December Tokyo: Day 6

I was probably the only one excited for the day, because we were going to Sanrio Puroland. The way there is simple:

From Shinjuku, take Keio line to Chofu Station, transfer to Keio Sagamihara line to alight at Tama Center Station (340 Yen). 

You may want to check google map before boarding, as the train may go directly to Tama Center Station.Once one arrives at Tama Center Station, navigation to Puroland is not an issue, as there’ll be foot prints and directions leading to the destination.

Note that there is a shopping centre opposite Keio Plaza Hotel Tama. The folks accidentally located the place and its supermarket and stocked up on their fruits supply. My husband and my in-laws spent the afternoon there while I continued to roam around on my own at Puroland.

img_8923

It is my favourite theme park in Tokyo, because:

  • it is indoor, great place for me to escape from the cold;
  • staff are friendly, helpful and cutely dressed;
  • there are opportunities to take photos with my favourite characters, just simply queue up at various photo spots;
  • some of the set meals come with plates or lunch boxes which we can bring home;
  • it is not very crowded, waiting time is reasonable.

The entrance fee is 3300 yen for adult. I purchased the ticket in advance from Changi Recommend, which amount to only about 2160 yen.

Side note: as we departed from Terminal 4, which is the new terminal, the Changi Recommend Counter at the Departure hall did not have sufficient tickets (I have already ordered 4 tickets and paid online). They offered to refund me. In the end, I took a shuttle bus to Terminal 2’s counter to collect the tickets and then went back to Terminal 4 to board the plane. At this time, Terminal 4 is not so well connected to the rest of the other Terminals.

Anyway, the visit to Puroland was a pleasant one for me. As a group, we visited the Hello Kitty house and Gudetama Game Stations, and watched the parade at the Central Plaza.

After they left , I queued up to take photos with some of the characters, watched another parade and shopped at the huge souvenir store (but did not buy anything for myself). I think my self-control in not buying cute things has reached another level during this trip.

After I have enjoyed myself sufficiently, I met them at the supermarket for dinner. They had some tables and chairs at one side of the supermarket where customers can consume the food they have purchased. We each had a plate of sushi, price was around half of a similar purchase in Isetan Singapore. Around 700 yen per person.

For this trip, we rented two portable wifi routers, so that we could easily go on separate ways and still maintain contact with the other party. By the way, re-entry (within same day) is not allowed for Puroland. So it wasn’t possible for them to come back to find me.

On our way back to Tama Center Station:

I have heard mixed comments of Puroland. To me, it is a place that I’ll re-visit every few years, because I like their characters. There are two rides for young children which I don’t mind taking, but they will appeal more to children. It is a wonderful place if you want to indulge in cuteness once in a while.

Next day: Mount Fuji

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑